Why Reading About Nutrition Doesn’t Change Your Habits, Truce with Food enrollment open!

My Truce with Food program is now open for enrollment thru March 22. We begin Tuesday, April 2. There’s so many exciting additions, including the choice to attend live or virtual, a new installment payment plan, and bonus classes to address the exercise and intricate medical side of weight-loss. Past clients– click to see how to receive the scoop from these classes. I’m gifting them to all private and group Truce with Food participants.

Photo Credit: Dan Foy

Photo Credit: Dan Foy

I was an energetic preschooler. My parents, exhausted and tight on cash since they were inner-city school teachers, enrolled me in various religious summer camps. They weren’t religious. Rather, the camps were free and they needed to feel saved, at least for a couple of mornings, in the summer.

During one of the Lutheran camps, our activity was to draw a picture of God. I drew my picture based on something I had recently seen on Little House on the Prairie. My God was a bald older man with some white hair on the sides and Aquamarine Crayola-colored eyes behind a pair of knowing glasses.  All of us kids had this same version, plus or minus a few clouds… until I looked to my left. One girl had drawn a woman. I lit up inside. I remember thinking,“Why didn’t I think of that?” To this day, I am grateful to those liberal Lutherans.

I have lived much of my life looking at situations from different angles. It’s my primary job as a coach. However, it took me 20 years to really “get” that there is a food narration that exists outside of the dominant stories being preached. The hardest stories to change are the ones in which we unconsciously reside.  In our society, the most common theme projected is that food involves a battle. Several online magazine  articles reflect this idea: “Top 10 Ways to Fight Fat”, “How to Finally Resist Dessert”, “Better Ways to Track Calories”, “Triple Threat Brownies” and “Sneaky Winter Weight Traps”.

Battles involve a lot of fear, vigilance and casualties. And after an overextended tour of duty, a few extra glasses of wine or half a loaf of fresh warm bread numb the pain of the battle. In his book, Willpower, Roy Baumesiter explains that willpower requires glucose. In other words, you need to eat to have willpower. What is a dieter, caught in this Catch-22, to do?

Find a new story–one where food isn’t an enemy to resist.

Thankfully, there’s more than just one woman illustrating other ways of relating to food these days. Take a past “Truce with Food” client, I’ll call Sara. She recently told me that between December and January she lost 10 lbs; her husband remarked that he hasn’t seen her this happy in awhile. From our work together, she discovered a new understanding of blood sugar, food allergies and that she had to take her writing seriously.  She said, “I remember in ‘Truce’ your saying that once you changed your relationship to food, you realized you weren’t really a food person. I know what you mean now. I always thought I was too. But not anymore.” She remarked how neat and crazy it was that honoring her desire to be a writer was part of her newly revised food story – one with a much happier ending.

Last year, when I attended Ted Med, a conference where innovative leaders meet to collaborate on new ideas to solve today’s health crisis, a top scientist stood on stage and explained that one of today’s biggest medical challenges is that there’s more data then ever – but no one is sure how to organize it into valuable meaning. It’s akin to knowing about sugar’s toxcicity and harm, but still find yourself buying four boxes (to freeze of course) of Girl Scout thin mints.

What food means to you needs to be understood. Not more data but how are you organizing that information to create your story about food. Are you really that into food? Did you come out of the birth canal frightened at the the fat in breast milk or wondering if your formula was organic?

The first step in changing your relationship to food is realizing you have a story. One version of events. Being open to that possiblity creates the opportunity to re-author years of history, like Sara did.  Food doesn’t have to be a battle. You don’t have to remember to do lunges while you grocery shop with your cart as I once saw the Biggest Loser winner, Ali Vincent, recommend to someone on a TV show. She lost weight but apparently not the torment. Aside from serious casualties, there are no long-term winners in a war.

When Sara and I finished talking about all her fantastic results, we discussed how liberating it is to be free of the constant vigilance that a battle requires, what fun it is to redirect that energy into things that inspire us, and, of course, why did it take us so long to change our story.

Every time you go to war with food, you become more defensive. Not only can you lose weight without losing your mind, it’s the only way. You can light up inside when you experience for yourself another side of food. There are so many happy endings awaiting you.

If you feel now is the time for you to change course, I hope you’ll join us at “Truce with Food” starting April 2.  I’ll be hosting a free call on Wednesday, March 13th at 7 p.m. to discuss the four stages of change necessary to feel different about food and your body. It’s also a sneak peek on my book so please join me to get this fascinating conversation started! Click here to register for the call. Now that you know you are in one story, I’ll be back next week telling you the biggest flaw in your current story and how to change that. And it’s not what you think!

9 thoughts on “Why Reading About Nutrition Doesn’t Change Your Habits, Truce with Food enrollment open!

  1. Link in the Truce with Food text to sign up for the call on Wed Mar 17th is not working. 🙂

    Greta

  2. I’ve been trying to stop the battle with food for years. Sometimes I’m able to cease the battle but mostly not. Looking forward to the call…

  3. Pingback: Your Chance to Call a Truce with Food | Beauty Is Wellness

  4. Pingback: Aren’t Eating What You’re Supposed to Eat? Here’s Why + Free Truce with Food Call This Wednesday at 7 p.m. EST | Ali Shapiro

Comments are closed.